Mamalila – baby wearing jackets

Sometimes you see something, that quite literally stops you in your tracks, and in this instance made me go ‘wow, that’..

Already a Member? Log In to Your Account
  
This Blog Posts All Posts Directory Listings Articles

Mamalila – baby wearing jackets

07/21/2014 06:06:50 AM

Sometimes you see something, that quite literally stops you in your tracks, and in this instance made me go ‘wow, that’s ruddy brilliant!’ This happened as I walked past the Mamalila stand at the Outdoor trade show in Frierichschaf

Therm-a-Rest – Treo Chair

07/21/2014 02:15:56 AM

Regular readers of GWA will be forgiven for thinking that this chair from looks a bit familiar. Therm-a-Rest’s aim in bringing this compact chair to the market is to provide big chair comfort with small chair packaging and portability. Parking

MSR launches award winning WindBoiler stove

07/17/2014 01:45:13 AM

The new WindBoiler stove from MSR (Mountain Safety Research) gives outdoor enthusiasts the excellent wind protection of the alpinist Reactor Stove System with the user friendliness of a convenient, compact system for weekend backpackers. The result

Lifeventure – Ellipse plate and cutlery set

07/17/2014 01:30:16 AM

The knife has good serrations on it but it makes hard work of fine slicing due to its thickness; the fork similarly is sharp enough at the pointy end but it too feels clumsy when stabbing your errant cherry tomatoes; and the spoon feels big in the mo

True Mountain – New UK brand launches

07/16/2014 08:45:05 AM

True Mountain is the result of reaching that stage in life where you move away from the big smoke and big bucks and start a project for the sake of love rather than necessity. Read more...

Therm-a-Rest EvoLite scoops award

07/16/2014 06:48:10 AM

Therm-a-Rest has won a 2014 OutDoor Industry Award for the EvoLite mattress – a two season sleeping pad that blends award-winning NeoAir comfort with the convenience of self-inflation. The EvoLite mattress was one of three winners in the campin

Keen – UNEEK shoes

07/16/2014 02:27:50 AM

have a theory that these shoes are going to garner a similar reaction to Marmite, you'll ether love them or hate them. From the moment I stepped onto Keen's stand at last weeks Outdoor show, I was most definitely the former - I think they are awesome

Have a fun day out with Respect the Mountains Envirotrek Mountain Clean Up

07/16/2014 02:01:39 AM

Get back to nature, make a difference in the mountains and get treated to a hearty lunch and fun afternoon of activities in the great outdoors by joining the third UK annual Respect the Mountains Envirotrek Mountain Clean Up sponsored […] Read

New rope standards on display at Mammut

07/15/2014 09:31:14 AM

A new standard for water repellent climbing ropes has been approved by the UIAA Safety Commission for 2015, after almost 10 years of research and testing. In many instances the UIAA standards are more stringent than the Euro ones and all Mammut ropes

Smartwool – Ultralight Crew Sock

07/09/2014 00:24:24 AM

I must confess to not being much of a brand officianado, and really couldn't understand his love for this brand. However having been sent a set of his n' hers Ultralight Crew socks and having now worn my own pair 6/7 times I do rather get it. Read m

MSR Debuts Minimalist Tent for Weight-Conscious Backpackers

07/08/2014 03:07:07 AM

It's a single wall design that uses two standard walking poles to save weight, thus it weights in at a skinny minny 710g (alb 9oz) and it'll sleep two people. Apparently it's the lightest full-protection shelter MSR has ever made. Read more...

Coleman – Galileo 5 Tent

07/08/2014 02:14:07 AM

The remainder of the space is gargantuan for a 5-man tent. It's easily big enough for 6 camping chairs and a game of poker, or a proper table setup. In real world terms it's also plenty big enough for husbands to stay out of the way quite effectively

Therm-a-Rest Introduces Nikwax Hydrophobic Down into Sleeping Bag Collection

07/07/2014 11:04:23 AM

We’ve just heard news from the folks over at Therm-a-Rest that they are introducing Nikwax Hydrophobic Down into their 2015 sleeping bag collection, but what the heck does that mean to you? Well it means that they will dry faster […] Read

BEET IT – High Nitrate Shots and Bars

07/07/2014 02:38:59 AM

The idea is that eating nitrate-rich foods can increase natural nitric oxide (NO) production. Why would athletes want to do this? Because NO relaxes and widens blood vessels, reducing blood pressure and increasing blood flow to organs and tissues. Wh

Didriksons – Launches Rainwear Sets

07/04/2014 11:44:34 AM

Swedish brand Didriksons are launching a series of men, women’s & children’s rainwear sets later this year, that they say are the first choice for cost-conscious campers and outdoor adventurers who want clothing that they can rely on to k

Montane – Women’s Glacier Vest

07/03/2014 15:11:36 PM

after one particularly cold March afternoon spent, for some inexplicable reason atop Crinkle Crags, I liberated my husband’s own gilet from his rucksack and saved myself from frostbite (small exaggeration) and was an immediate convert... Read more.

Opinel – DIY Folding Knife

07/03/2014 03:04:45 AM

The plastic handle I’m fine with – it takes this knife from being a cherished thing to pass on to your firstborn when they reach twelve, to being more of a utilitarian tool. A little less special and a little more robust. The sort of thing you’

CampingGaz – Bistro 300

07/02/2014 07:30:03 AM

This one pot CampingGaz stove is a big step up from the wobbly canister types I recall using during my early forays into camping. If you like your life a bit on the wild side, with perilously balanced pots you'll probably not want to read any furthe

SteriPEN – Freedom Water Purifier

06/30/2014 14:19:28 PM

The Freedom comes with a natty little solar-charger, which is about the same size as an iPod, and uses a USB lead to connect to the Pen. It takes around 18 hours to charge the SteriPEN, but from that charge you get 40 purification cycles, so it would

Klean Kanteen – vacuum insulated flask

06/29/2014 12:24:53 PM

At just 355ml/12oz this little old flask  doesn’t exactly throw it’s weight around, but those that know they are good at something don’t usually feel the need to be all gobby and in your face. The labels attached to this […]

Cyba-lite – Lightstar 120 Torch

06/26/2014 11:30:47 AM

I suspect that this is an accident of the design, rather than intended - is that the top edge surrounding the bulb is crenelated, meaning that when rested downwards on a hard surface a bit of light still leaks through, this is a nice amount of ambien

Coleman – CPX6 DoubleEdge Flashlight Lantern

06/25/2014 12:19:16 PM

it's only when you press the OTHER button on the top that you realise what the DoubleEdge's party-piece is. Rising like an enthusiastic child who knows the answer to teacher's question, up shoots a red... thing from the centre of the lantern. And lik

Therm-a-Rest – LuxuryLite Mesh Cot

06/24/2014 04:48:48 AM

Assembly, once finished, results in a lightweight and surprisingly rigid bed frame. There are a number of spare struts and rings supplied so you can fettle the bed to your own comfort - if you have big hips or shoulders, or find that a certain pole l

GO Outdoors pitches new tent range

06/20/2014 05:59:05 AM

Gear We Are is excited to learn that GO Outdoors, the UK’s largest specialist retailer of camping, outdoor equipment and clothing, has launched a new range of tents. We are told that the new range includes something for everyone – from [R

Nite Ize – HandleBand Universal Smartphone Bar Mount

06/17/2014 02:00:31 AM

It has a very robust double rubber band that stretches round your Smartphone and holds it in place very tightly. And the metal clippie bits that are integral to the HandleBand’s holding and remaining in place functionality are seemingly high grade

Muddy Puddles – Originals All-in-One

06/16/2014 02:00:13 AM

Having seen other children togged out in Muddy Puddles gear in the past, and deducing that the name of the company probably represented their product offering quite well, I opted to buy a Muddy Puddles Originals all-in-one waterproof suit for the wor

Keen – Depart WP CNX women’s walking boots

06/14/2014 12:27:17 PM

After a 3 hour hike earlier today I switched out of them into another pair of outdoor shoes so I could have a proper look to write this review and it was noticeable how less supported my feet felt in this other pair. So from me it's a double thumbs u

AKU – Fastalpina GTX Trekking Shoe

06/14/2014 11:58:25 AM

I've had these AKU Fastalpina GTX shoes for knocking on 9 months now, and they're ruined. They leak like a sieve. The sole is starting to peel off. They smell pretty shocking (even the dog has walked off). The grip has worn away, and they're less wat

Sigg – Viva Water Bottle

06/12/2014 07:22:01 AM

There are alternative versions of the bottle top available including the NAT (New Active Top) designed to allow you to drink from the built-in drinking straw without the bottle obscuring your view. This, with the bottle's shape that is compatible wit

Zamberlan – 316 Lady Lite GTX RR Boots

06/10/2014 07:15:17 AM

They are so easy to get on an off. I dislike boots and shoes where you have complex lacing systems that require a fiddly series of tightening and loosening action for each row. The great thing about these Zamberlans is that you flip the tongue back t

Scarpa – Rapid Womens’ Alpine Trail Running Shoe

06/05/2014 14:28:41 PM

I absolutely recommend them – no qualms at all. They are my preferred shoe of choice for all day, every day wearing at home, in the garden, out walking, out playing, up hill, down dale… I even wore them on a run to test them fully, and they perf

Spotty Otter – Down Chillibug Suit

05/28/2014 10:21:16 AM

It even scores highly in terms of colour and style. Ideally I would have chosen red but they didn’t have it in stock – so I opted for blue. And it’s a brilliant blue. Not a dull boring blue. And because it hasn’t got some naff cartoon princes

Mammut – Creon jacket

05/27/2014 03:53:58 AM

£200 seems to becoming the sort of amount that one can expect to pay for a top-end own-brand waterproof jacket these days. Whilst the likes of Gore-Tex accelerate the price of garments using their fabrics to levels which only the very determined (an

Adventure M-Apps

05/21/2014 10:52:41 AM

So, Adventure M-Apps will be downloadable guides with interactivity, which cover the major trekking, climbing and biking routes of the world. A combination of professional photography, video, text content and maps aim to give the very best impression

Opinel – No.9 Multitool Knife

05/21/2014 09:23:53 AM

A magnetised holder keeps the bit secure and helps to get the job done quickly – it can be stored securely within the handle of the No.9 when not in use – and Opinel’s distinctive Virobloc safety ring means every task can be completed safely.

Platypus – Big Zip LP

05/21/2014 08:07:14 AM

as hinted at by the LP in this bladder's name, the design is 'Low Profile'. None of the parts stick out very far, and the bladder itself has a welded anti-expansion bridge in it, so that when it's full, it stays fairly flat rather than becomes a tube

Keela – Kintyre Jacket

05/21/2014 07:06:15 AM

The cut is classic and understated, with straight lines that encourage shedding of drizzle and look smart over a shirt (as above). However, if the weather does turn 'British' then there are Velcro storm cuffs and bungee bands to seal out the breezes

Alite – comes to the UK

05/21/2014 06:24:55 AM

We were delighted to discover at the recent Keswick Mountain Festival that Gear We Are favourite Alite Designs now have UK distribution and are now available in all good outdoor stores here in Blighty. You can read our review of the […] Read m

TTeo Bl – Waterproof Phone Case

05/20/2014 10:33:23 AM

I'd used the pack a few times, to carry my phone (Sony Xperia Z, which fitted perfectly), some cash, and the key-fob: I discovered a few drops of water inside the pack, and taking a closer look, I realised that the plastic at both ends of the zip-loc

Albedo100 – Reflective Pet Spray

05/19/2014 06:57:57 AM

Made from microscopic glass beads mixed in with medical glue spray (same stuff you get on sticky plasters) the spray lasts for up to a week and transforms your pet from a dark, unlit mass in to a bright, reflective (and much safer) beast that torches

Xtorm – Yu Charger

05/19/2014 06:48:41 AM

This is a cool little silicone rubber covered solar panel with built-in battery which can give you a full iPhone charge after a day’s sunny hiking. The Yu is showerproof and shockproof, and its soft rubber cover will fend off […] Read mor

Xtorm – Lava Charger

05/19/2014 06:37:59 AM

The Lava has 2 built-in charging leads for standard USB and mini-USB, as well as 2 ports so you can connect your own leads if you have an Apple product, or non-USB jack. You can even charge 2 devices at once! The charging leads are hidden in the side

X-Bionic – Radiactor V1 Running Top

05/10/2014 04:13:45 AM

For keeping cool, and good stability I give the top a thumbs up. And after a straw poll of friends and family after my test runs – if got the thumbs up for being a less sweaty and antisocial than the rest of my workout wardrobe. Read more...

SIGG – Viva Bottle Range Launches

05/10/2014 03:44:23 AM

SIGG, best known for their metal bottles, have done a sneaky and launched a range of transparent plastic bottles. And as you’d expect from the Swiss brand, their devil is in the detail, so here’s a quick rundown. The VIVA […] Read m

Silva – Visibility Vest and Jacket

05/07/2014 06:09:32 AM

Both Silva’s visibility jacket and its visibility vest do a great job of making you more easily seen. Both tops are richly dyed and given a generous amount of luminous strips. The jacket boasts 3m of high-vis tape across the chest, back and along t

Keela – Zenith Softshell Jacket

04/25/2014 04:11:19 AM

The Zenith's piece-de-resistance is it's ruggedness. I've seen people fight through brambles and holly bushes over months and the jacket not develop telltale snags. Read more...

Nikwax wins Queen’s Award

04/23/2014 05:23:52 AM

 It’s congratulations to outdoor-industry eco-stalwarts Nikwax on being awarded a Queen’s Award for Enterprise in Sustainable Development. The award is the highest achievement for business success in the UK, and reflects on Nikwax’

Opinel – No.8 Outdoor Knife

04/22/2014 12:35:10 PM

Stop-the-press on the serrated part of the blade. Opinel say it's designed to cut through rope efficiently, and I tested it on 30ft of rotten woollen carpet. It cut through like a dream - WAY easier than a stanley knife and really, really impressed m

Sigg – Thermo Bottle

04/11/2014 07:19:11 AM

The 1L bottle is a tall, thin affair which is quite elegant and sits nicely inside a 25L backpack. It has a cup which it snugly nestles inside, and both the cup and the bottle have a rubber patch on the bottom so they don't slide off a car dashboard

Airbac – AirTech Backpack (32L)

03/24/2014 09:50:11 AM

The amount of padding in the AirTech Backpack is insane. They've turned up the padding dials to 11 and it's foam o'clock in the shoulderstraps. The bag oozes comfort from every pore. But it's that enormous air bladder which is the party piece. Its ov

Sprayway – Grendel Windstopper Jacket

03/21/2014 08:20:40 AM

It is sold as a windproof jacket, and uses mostly Gore Windstopper fabric, with panels of stretchy softshell in the sides and underarm to aid ventilation and movement. But the thing about Windstopper is that it's actually pretty much the same stuff a

Cyba-Lite – Vega lantern

03/18/2014 08:00:50 AM

The Vega lantern is said to chuck out 300 lumen from its 3 LEDs, which in real-world terms is enough to light a tent or room bright enough to read by, but probably not to do open heart surgery. We're currently renovating an old house, and the Vega ha

Edelrid – Make your own rope mat

03/18/2014 06:13:25 AM

Making your own rope mat is a great activity for wet weekends when bad weather stops you going to the crag, and it’s easy to get the kids involved as well. Though obviously we would recommend an adult deals with the nails and the hot knife or light

Sole – Loft women’s boots

03/17/2014 09:55:32 AM

When I first put these boots on I was surprised at how comfortable they were. The flannel-lined inside made them as comfy as putting on a pair of well-worn slippers. And with the inner-calf circumference measuring a generous 34.5cm, it made them even

T-Reign – ProLink Smartphone Holster/Tether

03/05/2014 03:36:26 AM

What you get is a tough bumper case for your phone (iPhone 4 or 5 models available) which clips around it in two parts and holds together securely. In case you are ham-fisted, the case and holster are connected with a retractable tether. The cord tet

Didriksons – Malte Jacket

03/03/2014 03:15:49 AM

All in all, the Didriksons Malte has been my go-to coat this winter. Nothing has come close to its combination of waterproofing, warmth and practicality, and suitability for all activities. As Didriksons are about to re-launch their UK sales efforts

Sub Zero – Factor 2 inner gloves

02/24/2014 07:10:56 AM

We’ve had a surprisingly mild winter this year, but I still find it a little chilly on the hands during those early morning dog-walks, and up on the hills. But I’m not keen on big bulky gloves unless the conditions […] Read more...

Nikwax – Waterproofing technology for brands

02/13/2014 06:21:49 AM

In an interesting turn-up for the books, British brand Nikwax – the aftermarket waterproofing specialists – has started selling treated fabrics and fills to clothing brands. At launch, they had tied up with Rab to supply a hydrophobic dow

Therm-a-rest Antares Down Sleeping Bag

02/12/2014 03:00:20 AM

It’s designed with straps on the underside that fit a specific Therm-a-rest sleeping mat. As such, there’s no down in that area. At all. The theory is that the marvellous Therm-a-rest mat you will buy fits this space perfectly, and thus provides

Powertraveller – Powermonkey Expedition

01/27/2014 10:11:18 AM

Brand new, launched to industry today, the Powermonkey Expedition could be the world’s first device which allows you to charge your devices 24-hours a day.

Powertraveller – Powermonkey Expedition

01/27/2014 09:57:46 AM

Brand new, launched to industry today, the Powermonkey Expedition could be the world’s first device which allows you to charge your devices 24-hours a day. The Powermonkey Expedition is a game changer. Make no mistake that this is a product [&#

Elliot Brown – impact resistant watches

01/14/2014 10:26:17 AM

This is pretty neat. The founder of Animal and a business partner have a new venture in higher-end watches for the discerning, fashion conscious outdoorsmith. The party-piece for these watches is that, although they look like dress pieces, the workin

Mammut – Biwak Light Jacket with Polartec Alpha

01/14/2014 09:43:11 AM

A very pretty insulated jacket with full-length zipper and stretchy panels in the sides and underarm. A fleecy- lined Polartec Power Stretch material goes up the whole sides and makes for a jacket which won’t restrict you as you do […] Re

Kora – ShoLa 230 Zip Baselayer

01/13/2014 10:29:59 AM

The Kora ShoLa is an expensive piece of kit. But, based on my own use, I'd be happy to take it as my only baselayer on an extended trip. So maybe it's a case of buy once, buy well, and make a sound investment. Read more...

Rab – Xenon Pull-on Smock

01/09/2014 07:35:28 AM

I've been wearing it almost every day as an outer layer, and occasionally as a mid-layer, during activities from hill-walking through to working in an unheated office. It's a warm, windproof and drizzle-friendly pull-on which has some badass combinat

Powertraveller – Powergorilla

01/06/2014 16:37:32 PM

I've managed to flatten my car battery using an inverter, and have had a laptop jerry-rigged to run off a jump-starter pack before now, which filled me with dread. The Powergorilla just gives a more professional and dependable solution. And so long a

Sole – Insulated Ultra Footbeds

01/03/2014 10:03:59 AM

The boots I have them in feature a steel protective plate in their sole, so you'd think that they'd suck all the heat out of your feet. Not so, I've only ever had cold feet on the occasions when I've been sat still for a while rather than when standi

X-Bionic – Energizer MK2 Women’s Top

12/13/2013 07:51:13 AM

The only time I've over-heated in it was because I wasn’t sure how well it would work so I put fleece over top of it. And after bouts of intense exercise I didn't turn into a shivering mess immediately afterwards so it seems to do the regulation th

Aquaviz – Pro Swim Mask

11/18/2013 05:35:47 AM

With a lightweight twin lens design, the new UV-protected and scratch resistant mask can adapt to any water environment. Lens options include polarized sun or ophthalmic lenses including Single Vision, Bifocals and Varifocals. Read more...

Caribee – Adriatic 27L Daypack School Bag

11/18/2013 05:17:31 AM

Caribee is an Aussie company, and their choice of colours for the Adriatic shows their southern Hemisphere heritage. The sample bag we have has been made from Joseph's Amazing Technicolour Dreamcoat, and would be impossible to lose anywhere except fo

Kora – Yak Wool Shola Zip Baselayer

10/28/2013 06:40:58 AM

I guess if you had to look to nature for inspiration in finding the very best insulating materials, it makes perfect sense that you look for those creatures which live in the worst, in the harshest, the coldest environments in […] Read more...

Caribee – Adriatic 27L Daypack

10/28/2013 06:29:22 AM

There’s nothing much to talk about in technical terms here. In fact, I was in two minds whether or not we should review this bag at all. But then I remembered that the bag which the wife uses more than […] Read more...

© 2006-2014 OnToplist.com, All Rights Reserved